MainNews -

Britain imposes sanctions on Russian officials related to "elections" in Ukrainian TOT

London also added Russia's Emergency Situations Minister and the Secretary of the Russian Central Election Commission to the sanctions list. 

Britain imposes sanctions on Russian officials related to "elections" in Ukrainian TOT

The British government today froze assets and banned travel for officials associated with the "elections" in the Russian-occupied Ukrainian territories of Zaporizhzhya, Kherson, Luhansk, Donetsk Regions and Crimea. This is stated in the government's press release.

The government said that the sanctioned officials were involved in the recent "fake elections" in the regions.

"The UK will never recognise Russia's claims to the territory of Ukraine. Crimea, Zaporizhzhya, Donetsk, Luhansk and Kherson are Ukraine territories," said British Foreign Secretary James Cleverly.

The sanctions also apply to officials involved in last year's fake referendums organised to legitimise the attempted annexation of Ukraine's territory.

The UK has also added Russian Emergency Situations Minister Alexander Kurenkov and Russian CEC Secretary Natalia Budarina to the sanctions list.

"In response to Russia's attempts to use fictitious elections to legitimise the control over Kherson, Zaporizhzhya, Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea, which are part of the sovereign territory of Ukraine, the UK will introduce eleven new categories [of sanctions]," the British Foreign Office said in a statement.

In total, the UK has imposed sanctions on 1,600 individuals and entities in response to Russia's invasion of Ukraine. 

Read news on social networks Facebook, Twitter and Telegram