MainNews -

The United States implemented sanctions on Russian oligarchs and their families

The list also includes Putin's spokesman Peskov.

The United States implemented sanctions on Russian oligarchs and their families

The United States announced sanctions against Russian oligarchs to increase pressure on the economy of Russia, which has attacked Ukraine.

This information was posted on the website of the White House.

Full blocking sanctions are implemented towards Russian President’s press secretary Dmytro Peskov, Russian businessmen Yevgeniy Pryhozhyn, Borys and Arkady Rotenberg, and Alisher Usmanov. The list also includes Sergey Chemezov, chairman of "Rostech," Igor Shuvalov, chairman of the VEB RF, and Nikolay Tokarev, President of JSC "Transneft."

Restrictions will also apply to members of their families. In total, the list includes 19 oligarchs and 47 of their relatives.

"The United States and governments around the world will work to identify and freeze the assets of members of Russia's elite and their families," the White House said in a statement.

In addition, the United States introduced blocking sanctions for "misinformation" against 7 Russian organizations and 26 people in Russia or Ukraine and play leading roles in these structures.

Please be reminded that on Wednesday, the US Department of Justice announced the creation of a working group to persecute oligarchs-billionaires who helped Russian President Vladimir Putin in his invasion of Ukraine. The White House says that sanctions against Russian financial institutions and the Central Bank of Russia are the most significant since the Cold War; they have already separated most of Russia's economy from the rest of the world.

Earlier, Republican senators Marco Rubio and Chuck Grassley introduced a bill to implement large-scale sanctions against all Russian state-owned enterprises called "Heroiam Slava". The bill is fully titled "Halting Enrichment of Russian Oligarchs and Industry Allies of Moscow's Schemes to Leverage its Abject Villainy Abroad Act," English abbreviation of the title is "Heroiam Slava."

The sanctions mean banning access to the US capital market for companies owned or controlled by Moscow to finance Vladimir Putin's wars. The companies such as Rosneft, Gazprom, Rosatom, Aeroflot and RT are in the list.

Read news on social networks Facebook, Twitter and Telegram