MainNews -

EU extends sanctions against Russia until March 2020

They concern 170 persons and 44 entities.

EU extends sanctions against Russia until March 2020

The European Council has extended the restrictive measures over actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine for a further six months, until 15 March 2020.

The measures consist of an asset freeze and travel restrictions. They currently apply to 170 persons and 44 entities.

Other EU measures in place in response to the crisis in Ukraine include:

- Economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy, currently in place until 31 January 2020.

- Restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol, limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol, currently in place until 23 June 2020.

The decision was adopted by the Council by written procedure. The legal acts will be published in the Official Journal on 13 September 2019.

Read news on social networks Facebook, Twitter and Telegram